​The improvement of energy efficiency of electrical appliances lies within the policy measures for reducing the maximum demand for electrical energy which contributes to:

-Improvement of the environment by reducing CO2 emissions

-Technological improvement and development of industrial production of more efficient electrical appliances

-In accordance with Law N97 (1) 2001 whose aim is energy saving it is a statutory obligation to mark the energy consumption of certain domestic electrical appliances such as:

  • Electric refrigerators, freezers and refrigerator-freezers

  • Washing machines

  • Electric clothes dryers

  • Dish washers

  • Domestic electric lamps

  • Domestic electric ovens

  • Domestic air conditioners​

The energy marking is intended to bring to your attention the energy requirement of the domestic appliance so that you know whether the model you intend to purchase is, from the energy point of view, wasteful or not.

Appliances are classified in categories (A, B, C, D, E, F, G) depending on their energy consumption as compared always with appliances of the same kind so that the low energy models are distinguished from the high energy wasteful models. The more efficient models will bear the category letter A whilst those with the worst efficiency will bear the category letter G.​