​Distribution is one of the four CRAs that the EAC has incorporated with the aim of facilitating its operation while complying with the requirements of the Laws Regulating the Electricity Market of 2003 to 2017 and CERA's Regulatory Decision 04/2014.   

Distribution incorporates both the DAO (Distribution System Owner) and the DSO (Distribution System Operator), the latter having particular responsibilities, authority and obligations under Cypriot law while the European Directives give it the role of a neutral market facilitator and of a catalyst regarding the implementation of technology. A particular characteristic of its activity is that deals with the naturally monopolistic part of the EAC's business, creating a need for strict regulation in order to achieve the aims set by the European Union and the Republic of Cyprus.

Also, in a geographical aspect there are four area Distribution offices responsible for servicing the network users.